I wasn’t ready for marriage

I love mattwalshblog.com. I love everything he has to say and the way he says it. There are a ton of great posts that I could link to but this one in particular is very relevant.

I wasn’t ready to get married either. I didn’t have a full-time job. I hadn’t graduated yet. I didn’t even have my driver’s license. I was only 20 years old. I had been encouraged by many people to not be in a hurry to get married. I was told to wait. That I had plenty of time and that I should explore the world first. You know, LIVE. Live first and then get married because after you are married you can’t live anymore.

They didn’t say those exact words but they might as well have.

By most peoples standards I wasn’t “ready” to get married and start a family because I hadn’t finished college, hadn’t dated enough guys, hadn’t had a career, or any of the other things that make someone an “adult” and “ready” for marriage.

But as Matt so wonderfully points out, you can never be ready; and the only way to be “ready” is to be at a level of maturity where you can walk, jump, or hurl yourself into marriage and learn along the way.

I have learned A LOT about myself, about life, and about God through being married. I have matured. I’m not the same person I was when I first got married. And that’s a good thing. Why would I want to put that off? Why would I want to put off maturing and growing with another person who, no matter what, loves me and is committed to me? I would much rather journey through this messy life with my husband than to do it alone.

I was mature enough at the time I met Kyle to say “yes, I am committed to you. I will be faithful to you. I will honor our vows” before knowing what the future held. And now that we’re three and a half years in, now that I know all of his annoying habits, now that we’ve had some pretty nasty fights, and we’ve been through some really hard stuff, I am even more committed to him and the covenant we made.

Don’t wait until you are “ready.” It will never happen. Once you love someone with a love that comes from God, jump right in with both feet. It’ll be a beautiful, though sometimes messy, journey where you’ll learn what marriage and love is really all about.

I wasn’t ready for marriage.

via I wasn’t ready for marriage.

Leave a Reply

