Overwhelmed

May I be transparent for a moment?

It is only four months into 2013 and I already feel worn out and beaten down. I’m overwhelmed.

In January I started this blog. That is a good thing! I believe it is something God wants me to do and that He has blessed it. Just last week I acquired more followers and my homeschooling post was a hit! I am thankful. But this writing business is hard work. It requires time, dedication, and thick skin. Every time I publish a post I am putting myself out there for criticism. Though I know criticism comes with the trade it can be discouraging. Only three full months into this and I am growing weary! I’m not quitting…just admitting that this is hard!

Also in January I had a miscarriage and that experience rocked my world. It was one of the hardest things to go through and though I have come out of my grief, the reality of it still weighs heavy on my heart.

February I was still healing from the miscarriage. It was also the month I was killing myself trying to get Grayson to eat more because his doctor was concerned that he wasn’t gaining enough weight fast enough. I eventually gave it up because my kid just isn’t much of an eater but he’s good and healthy. It was just causing a lot of stress for me and the last thing I need is more stress!

In March I was given two awesome opportunities. One is to guest post for another blog and another is to be a contributing writer in an ebook. I am thrilled to have these opportunities but both of these things require more time and dedication. I’ve had to put the guest post on hold so that I could give more time to the ebook and still meet my endeavor of posting to this blog as regularly as possible. I also need to keep my family a priority so I always try to make sure they get the best of me and not my leftovers. To sum it up: time management and organization with a little one is not easy!

Finally, I have also started seeing a counselor once a week to work through some personal issues. This is proving to be extremely emotionally and mentally exhausting. It’s a good thing because these issues need to be dealt with and I know that God is using this to teach and purify me but it is very hard. It consumes so much of my emotional and mental energy.

All of this on top of my usual duties as a housewife and stay-at-home mom and I am feeling overwhelmed!

So what does this mean for you?

Well, if I’m a little absent from the blog you’ll know why. Also, you can rest knowing that you are not alone. I know I’m not the only woman out there who feels like she’s losing her mind! I know I’m not the only person who wants to run out into the streets waving a white flag and yell, “I surrender! Just leave me be!” Am I right? Come on, you can be a little transparent too. 🙂

We all go through seasons of life where we feel overwhelmed and hard pressed. But it’s only a season and seasons come and go. In the end God will have done a work in me and through me that I don’t deserve but brings Him glory and pleasure anyway. I (and you!) can rest in that tonight.

4 thoughts on “Overwhelmed

  1. I get overwhelmed at times myself trying to do too many things, especially when some of those things aren’t going as well as I might hope. I understand how you feel. I everything goes well in all of the endeavors that you are undertaking! 🙂

    • I think in some cases we have to be better at saying no and not take on more than we can handle. But in other cases it’s just life that is overwhelming and we have to pray through it. That’s where I am right now! Thanks for your comment!

  2. Dear Sarah,
    I can definitely relate with how writing responsibilities can quickly become overwhelming. I’ve been so blessed with opportunities God has brought along lately in my own life, and yet at times I find myself burdened by those blessings. I wish that wasn’t the case, but it’s true. I stumbled upon a verse this week amidst my own feelings of weakness and inadequacy that eased this road He has called me to walk upon. “And the Lord said, ‘My Presence will go with you and I will give you rest.” (Exodus 33:14)

    Please know that I’m praying for you, Sarah. May God speak peace to your heart during this season and give you rest amidst your responsibilities.

    Love,
    Savanna

Leave a Reply

