Miscarriage [An Unspoken Loss] Series

 

photo 2January 25th, 2013 I had a miscarriage. I was 9 weeks along but the baby had stopped developing weeks before. I had announced my pregnancy only a few days after finding out so I knew that I would also have to announce my miscarriage. I was anxious to get it over with so I posted on Facebook about it and asked for prayers. At first I didn’t think I would want to write about my experience in the midst of it but I ended up writing through my grief. As a result I had women come out of the woodwork sharing with me that they too had had a miscarriage and they shared their story with me. Through this I came to realize that a great number of women have a miscarriage and it goes unacknowledged. It is rarely talked about and a part of the reason for that is because there is no opportunity or circumstance in which such a taboo topic would be acceptable. I want to change that. I would like to provide an avenue in which women can share their story without fear of being judged or misunderstood. But I’ll explain more on that later.

487776_10151290181575897_1406434413_nFor now, I want to introduce a new series to my readers. This week I will be discussing miscarriage and how it effects those involved; the mother, the father, friends and family. I’m going to give advice to the mothers on grieving, advice to the fathers on how to be there for the mother, and advice to the friends and family on what they can do and say to be of the most help and support. I am sad that this is even a relevant topic but I feel blessed to have the ability to minister to the women who have to go through this kind of loss. I believe that God has a purpose for everything so just maybe God’s purpose in me losing Rylie was so that I could comfort those who will also lose a child. I have much to say in the coming days but for now, if you are reading this and you are currently going through a miscarriage or have recently gone through one, then please know this: you are not alone. There is hope for you yet.

One thought on “Miscarriage [An Unspoken Loss] Series

  1. My heart still aches for your loss but I have continually been amazed at how God has already used you through this experience in others lives and I have been so encouraged to see the glory you have brought to God through your suffering. This post is so well written and I look forward to reading the rest of the series. Proud to have a friend like you.

Leave a Reply

