In Jesus, There is Hope

Today I am reminded of the magnitude of the fallen world we live in. Healing from the loss my husband and I have suffered and then attending a funeral today and hearing of other struggles people are facing, the fact that sin is ever manifesting itself and effecting us in different ways is brought to the forefront of my mind. During the funeral I kept thinking of how this fallen world is currently pressing in on me. I mean, I am always aware of the depraved world we occupy but recently it is weighing more heavily on my shoulders, making its presence more obviously known.

However, I am not disheartened. Along with this realization is the truth that God is faithful. That truth follows closely on the heels of the truth that the world is fallen. We don’t have to fall under the weight of sin. We don’t have to succumb to the pain and depression that the effects of sin bring upon us. We have a God who is faithful to His nature and to His promises. We have a God who, if we are His chosen children, will not fail us, will not stop loving us, will never leave us. We can rest in His faithfulness. Even if we do not feel His presence, we can claim Truth, believe it in our souls, and trust that one day we’ll climb out of the darkness and into the Light. We’ll find healing. We’ll find hope.

Hope. That is what I am always coming back to. In Christ, there is hope. In His faithfulness, there is hope. In His holiness, there is hope. In Him and in Him alone, there is hope. I could not have survived the loss of my baby, Rylie, without Christ and His hope. It is through Him that I continue to live with joy, hope, and faith.

Even though knowing Christ does not disqualify us from experiencing the effects of this fallen world, it is knowing Him that gets us through. That is a truth that you can take with you as you face whatever you are in right now or whatever may lie ahead for you. That is a truth you can remember as you grieve the loss of a loved one, as you work to strengthen or repair your marriage, as you search for wisdom in raising a difficult child, as you strive to live biblically in this fallen world. Knowing the Lord and bringing glory to His name is the ultimate goal, no matter what it is that we face here on Earth.

“Yet whatever gains I had, these I have come to regard as loss because of Christ. More than that, I regard everything as loss because of the surpassing value of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have suffered the loss of all things, and I regard them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ and be found in him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but one that comes through faith in Christ, the righteousness from God based on faith. I want to know Christ and the power of his resurrection and the sharing of his sufferings by becoming like him in his death, if somehow I may attain the resurrection from the dead.” – Philippians 3:7-11

Jesus is better.

Leave a Reply

