Having a Second Baby

I have good news!!

My husband and I just recently found out that we are expecting baby #2!! Our son, Grayson, is only 8 months old and even though we knew it was quite possible to get pregnant again so soon it was still a surprise! The more reality settles in the more happy and excited we are but when I first saw that positive I felt an array of emotions. Deep down inside I just knew I was pregnant but when the proof was right in my face I felt surprised, nervous, happy, worried, my heart was soaring and I cried. I cried out of joy and out of fear. How am I going to take care of a baby while pregnant with another baby? With my first pregnancy I spent a lot of time sleeping and relaxing. This time I won’t be able to do that. And what do I do with Grayson while my face is in the toilet? Then there is when the baby comes and I have TWO babies to take care of! So much is going to change and I have gotten accustom to how things are right now. How am I going to take care of two babies? What if this baby is more difficult and high maintanence than Grayson? How do I give equal attention and affection? And this tiny house is going to get a lot more crowded!

These are my fears, my worries, my concerns. I think these concerns are natural and understandable but they certainly do not outweigh the joy of this second little blessing. Every child is a gift from God and I trust the Lord in His timing. The creation of a child is such a mystery to us but He knows every single detail of my child’s life, in and outside of the womb. That is such a peaceful and comforting thought. He has me and my family under His sovereign care and even though that doesn’t mean adding another baby to our family will be easy, it does mean that He will help us and provide for us. And of course it’s not like this doesn’t happen everyday! Many couples have had more than one child and they have figured it out so I am sure we will too!

The Lord is good to bless us again so soon. He has given us another child to love, to add joy to our home, and to raise in His Word. And He has given Grayson a sibling! We are nervous, yes, but we are blessed. We are adding another arrow to our quiver!

One thought on “Having a Second Baby

  1. Thank you so much for sharing this, Sarah. What a blessing to read. I am praying for your growing family and thanking God for His perfect provision! 🙂

Leave a Reply

